Remote deployment of an experience

Table of Contents

    Overview

    The IntuiFace Share and Deploy console enables the deployment of any published experience to any Player, located anywhere in the world, on any supported operating system, possessed by the experience owner. With a simple click of the mouse in your Web browser, any Internet-accessible device running IntuiFace Player will download and then play your work.

    For information about how to publish an experience, see this article.

    NOTE: Deployment automation is a feature exclusive to those with at least one active Composer Enterprise license. Free and Pro Edition users can publish and share (by account or by URL) their experiences but can only deploy manually. For information about manual experience deployment, see this article.

    Deploying an Experience

    To deploy an experience, you must first prepare the target device. On each device:

    • Install IntuiFace Player.
    • Player for Windows only: Run the Configuration Tool to open port 8000. This port is used for communication between Player and Management Console. There is no need to run Player itself.
    • All other Player platforms: Run Player.

    Now open Share and Deploy console in any Web browser and follow either of the two procedures.

    Selecting the experience first.

    In the "Manage My Experiences" view, select the experience you wish to deploy. This opens the information panel for that experience.

    Next, on the "Deploy" tab of the information panel, select the Players on which you wish to deploy this experience. You can filter this list by name, tag and platform.

    Finally choose one of two options and then the "Deploy" button.

    • Copy And Play   copies the experience over to each selected device and then runs the experience
    • Copy Only   copies the experience over to each selected device in anticipation of future use

    If the experience you're deploying was not previously copied to each remote device, deployment could take some time as you wait for the copy action to complete. If the experience was already deployed once before, a differential download will only copy the changes, speeding up the deployment process significantly.

    Selecting the devices running Player first.

    In the "Manage My Players" view: Select one or more devices on which you wish to deploy your experience. To select more than one Player, filter by name/tab/platform, select the triangle in the lower-left corner of each Player you'll be targeting then click the "All selected devices" button.

    NOTE: If you don't see Player for Windows in the "Manage My Players" view, refer to this article

    Next, on the "Deploy" tab of the "All Selected Devices" information panel, choose the experience you wish to deploy. This list of experiences can be filtered by name.

    Finally choose one of two options and then the "Deploy" button.

    • Copy And Play   copies the experience over to each selected device and then runs the experience
    • Copy Only   copies the experience over to each selected device in anticipation of future use

    If the experience you're deploying was not previously copied to each remote device, deployment could take some time as you wait for the copy action to complete. If the experience was already deployed once before, a differential download will only copy the changes, speeding up the deployment process significantly.

    Location of a deployed experience

    Experiences deployed to a Windows PC - whether using the Share and Deploy console or downloaded manually via Player - are saved in the folder: C:\Users\Public\IntuiFace. The folder name for your project will be the first few characters of the Experience ID - e.g. 1-3f08d610-630a - which can be located on the experience's information panel:

    Auto-Play Experiences After Crash Or Reboot On Windows PCs

    On Windows devices, there are two circumstances under which Player will automatically restart itself and play the last run experience.

    1. Player crashes
      If Player crashes, it will attempt to auto-recover itself. If successful, it will automatically open and run the experience it had in memory at the time of the crash.
    2. Windows Device Reboot
      If the Windows PC is rebooted - e.g. to recover from a PC crash - Player has the ability to auto-start itself after PC reboot and login, then play the last run experience. This ability is turned on via the Share and Deploy console and is described in detail here.